Registration open for 16th European VLBI Network Symposium and Users Meeting

Published on 27 March 2024


The 16th EVN Symposium and Users meeting, hosted by the Max-Planck-Institut für Radiostronomie, is taking place in Bonn in September 2-6, 2024. The European VLBI Network Symposium is the main forum for discussion of the latest Very Long Baseline Interferometry scientific results and technical and technological developments within the EVN member countries. 

The covered topics will include:

  • Active galactic nuclei and relativistic outflows
  • Starburst galaxies, extragalactic masers, and supernovae
  • Stellar evolution and stellar masers
  • Transient sources and pulsars
  • Astrometric, geodetic & space applications of VLBI
  • VLBI technology developments
  • Users feedback
  • Current and future VLBI facilities and international cooperation

Important dates:

  • 26 January: First Announcement
  • 20 March: Second Announcement
  • 20 March: Registration and abstract submission opens
  • 10 June: Deadline for abstract submission
  • 20 June: Third announcement: preliminary program made public
  • 30 June: Deadline for registration and payment
  • 15 July: Third Announcement
  • 02 September: Conference start

Invited speakers:

  • Markus Ackermann (DESY, Zeuthen, Germany)
  • Bia Boccardi (MPIfR, Bonn, Germany)
  • Roger Deane (University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa)
  • Simon Garrington (Jodrell Bank Observatory, Manchester, United Kingdom)
  • Giancarlo Ghirlanda (Osservatorio di Brera, Milano, Italy)
  • Preeti Kharb (Tata Institute for Fundamental Research, Pune, India)
  • Michela Mapelli (Universität Heidelberg, Germany)
  • Benito Marcote (Joint Institute for VLBI-ERIC, Dwingeloo, The Netherlands)
  • James Miller-Jones (Curtin University, Melbourne, Australia)
  • Eric Murphy (National Radio Astronomical Observatory, Charlottesville, VA, USA)
  • Suma Murthy (Joint Institute for VLBI-ERIC, Dwingeloo, The Netherlands)
  • Alexander Plavin (Harvard-Smithsonian Centre for Astrophysics, Cambridge, MA, USA)
  • Eduardo Ros (MPIfR, Bonn, Germany)
  • Ignas Snellen (Leiden Universiteit, The Netherlands)
  • Gabriele Surcis (Osservatorio di Cagliari, Italy)
  • Kiyoaki Wajima (KASI Daejeon, Korea & Shanghai Observatory, PR China)
  • Benjamin Winkel (MPIfR, Bonn, Germany)
  • Simona Vegetti (MPA, Garching, Germany)
  • Jun Yang (Chalmers University of Technology, Göteborg, Sweden)

Scientific Organising Committee:

  • Tao An (Shanghai Observatory, China)
  • Pikky Atri (ASTRON, Dwingeloo, Netherlands)
  • Carolina Casadio (Institute of Astrophysics, Heraklion, Greece)
  • Paola Castangia (INAF Cagliari, Italy)
  • Talvikki Hovatta (Aalto University, Espoo, Finland)
  • Marcin Gawroński (University of Torun, Poland)
  • Michael Lindqvist (Onsala Space Observatory, Sweden)
  • Andrei Lobanov (MPIfR, Bonn, Germany; chair)
  • Sara Motta (INAF Milano, Italy)
  • Tom Muxlow (University of Manchester, UK)
  • Zsolt Paragi (JIV-ERIC, Dwingeloo, Netherlands)
  • Kazi Rygl (INAF Bologna, Italy)

Local Organising Committee:

  • Siân Adey
  • Vieri Bartolini
  • Petra Benke
  • Lena Debbrecht
  • Sergio Dzib-Quijano
  • JongSeo Kim
  • Galina Lipunova
  • Jan Röder
  • Eduardo Ros (chair)

We look forward to welcoming you to Bonn in 2024 for what promises to be an exciting and informative event. Stay tuned for more information!